SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING, 4 NOVEMBER 2021

# REPORT OF THE Chief Executive PART I

### 1. HONORARY ALDERMAN

- 1.1 By virtue of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 ("the 1972 Act") the title of Honorary Alderman can be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present and voting at a meeting of the Council especially convened for that purpose, on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of the County Council. The title of Honorary Alderman cannot be conferred on an existing Member of the Council.
- 1.2 At the meeting of the County Council on 30 September 2021 the Leader of the Council, proposed conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillors Jane Frankum, Andrew Gibson and Anna McNair Scott for the title to be conveyed at a future meeting of the Council.

#### 2. Jane Frankum

- 2.1 Jane Frankum served as a County Councillor from 2001 to 2021 representing the Basingstoke North Division.
- 2.2 Jane was the Labour spokesperson for adult social care and children's services for a number of years as a member of both the Adult Social Care Policy Review Committee, which later became the Health and Adult Social Care Select Committee, and the Children's Services Policy Review Committee. She was also a member of the Regulatory Committee from 2013 to 2021 and served as Labour spokesman for much of that time.
- 2.3 During her 20 years of service, Jane was a member of a large and diverse selection of committees and panels, including the Education Policy Review Committee, County Highway Management Advisory Panels for the Basingstoke and Deane area, Safe and Healthy People Policy Review Committee, Hampshire Pension Fund Panel and Board and the Audit Committee.
- 2.4 For 16 years, from 2005, Jane represented the County Council on the Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority, serving on many of its committees during that time.
- 2.5 Outside bodies on which Jane represented the County Council included the Basingstoke and North Hants NHS Foundation Trust, the Hampshire and Isle of Wight Educational Trust for the Blind Governing Body, and as a Managing Trustee and Chairman of the Hampshire Old Industrial and Reformatory Schools Trust Fund.

# 3. Andrew Gibson

- 3.1 Andrew Gibson served as a County Councillor from 2009 to 2021, representing the Test Valley Central Division.
- 3.2 Andrew served on the Standards Committee, which later became the Conduct Advisory Panel, for his whole 12-year term. He also served on the Audit Committee from 2009, becoming Vice Chairman in 2012, until 2015.
- 3.3 Andrew was an Assistant Executive Member to the Leader, between 2013 and 2015, joining the Cabinet as an Executive Member in 2015, holding the portfolio for Culture, Recreation and Countryside until 2018.
- 3.4 Between 2012 and 2021 Andrew served as a member of the Pension Fund Panel and Board. From 2009 to 2013 he was a member of the River Hamble Harbour Management Committee. From 2019 until his retirement in 2021, he served as a member on the Regulatory Committee, and as a deputy member on the Policy and Resources Select Committee.
- 3.5 Andrew also represented the County Council on a large number of outside bodies, including Sir Harold Hillier Gardens and Arboretum Advisory Committee, from 2009 to 2021, Assembly of European Regions as Vice President for Inclusion, Diversity and Equality, the Local Government Association Coastal Issues Group, Strategic Aviation Special Interest Group, the University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust and the Hampshire Archives and Hampshire Cultural Trusts.

### 4. Anna McNair Scott

- 4.1 Anna McNair Scott served as a County Councillor from 2001 to 2021, representing the Candovers Division until 2017 and then the revised boundary of Candovers, Oakley and Overton. She was Chairman of the County Council from 2011 to 2012 following a year as Vice Chairman.
- 4.2 During Anna's 20 years of service, she was Chairman of a number of Committees and Panels, including the Special Educational Needs Panel (2002 2006), Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (2009 2010, following six years as Vice Chairman), Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (2007 2013, and again as Vice Chairman 2017 2021) and the Culture and Communities Select Committee (2013 2021).
- 4.3 Anna was a member of the Education Policy Review Committee, which became the Children and Young People Select Committee from 2001 to 2010, serving as Vice Chairman from 2007 to 2009. She also served on the Policy and Resources Select Committee for nine years.

.

- 4.4 Anna held the Executive portfolio for Adult Social Care as a member of the Cabinet during 2013 and represented the Council on the Health and Wellbeing Board.
- 4.5 Outside bodies on which Anna represented the County Council included Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority, Council of Partners for the North Wessex Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Frimley Park Hospital NHS Trust, VOICES for Children, Hampshire Voluntary Care Group Advisory Service and the Good Neighbour Support Service.

# **RECOMMENDATION**

That the County Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillors Jane Frankum, Andrew Gibson and Anna McNair Scott.